Alpine Awards - Motivation on Display


FIFA World Cup trophy

December 15, 2010

The FIFA could cup trophy goes to the winner of the Work Cup tournament that coccures every four years, pitting nation against nation on the soccer pitch. The world knows the game as Football, but Americans call it Soccer.

The FIFA could cup trophy is currently on it’s second version.  The world cup tournament was first played in 1930 and the trophy was called the Jules Rimet Trophy.

Jules Rimet Soccer Trophy

In 1974 FIFA introduced a new trophy made of 14.4 inches tall, made of18 carat solid gold with a malachite base. It is crafted showing a couple of human figurines lifting the world above their heads.

Italian artist Sivio Gazzainga won the commision to redesign a new world cup trophy. The team who wins the trophy does not receive the actual solid gold trophy, but a replica that is gold plated.

FIFA World Cup Trophy

Post to Twitter Post to Yahoo Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Facebook Post to Google Buzz Post to LinkedIn Post to MySpace Post to Squidoo Post to StumbleUpon